Manage contacts

Related Articles

All customers who reach out to your team will be automatically recorded as contacts in the app and visible in the Contacts tab. Depending on your widget settings and client authentication type, you will be able to see their contact information in your Paldesk dashboard. Learn more about how you can manage contacts below. 

How can I search contacts? 

To search your contacts, go to Contacts > All contacts and type their name or email address.

Important: Depending on your client authentication type, customers may not be required to log into your chat login form in order to open a new chat. If your visitors share their name and email with you, it will be automatically recorded and visible in the app. Alternatively, they will only be recorded as visitors, and you will not be able to send them emails, transcripts, etc. 

Here’s what a typical contact looks like in your Paldesk administration:

Search contacts in Paldesk

Image 1.  Search contacts in Paldesk

Select your contact from the list to open their information and conversation history. Here you can manage your contacts by adding information like emails, phone numbers, and socials. 

Contact information in Paldesk

Image 2. Contact information in Paldesk

To manage a contact in your Paldesk dashboard, click on the little gear icon next to their name. A little drop-down menu will appear, and you will be able to select between some of the options listed below.

Edit contact options in Paldesk

Image 3. How you can edit a contact in Paldesk

How can I manage contacts in Paldesk?

Here’s how you can modify an existing account in Paldesk: 

Duplicate contact – here you can duplicate an existing contact. This means you can create a new contact from an existing contact in your Paldesk administration.

Deduplicate contact – merge all your duplicate contacts into one. In case there are several agents with the same name or email address, select the “duplicate” option to merge them into a single contact. This will help you see all their contact information and conversation history in one place. 

Delete contact – remove an unwanted contact.  This will delete a contact, but their conversation history will remain visible to your team, and they will be able to access their conversations in the Conversations archive. 

Deleted contact in Paldesk

Image 4. Deleted contact in Paldesk 

Export contact data – export all your contact’s data, tickets, and conversations into an Excel file. 

Delete contact data  – permanently delete all information about a contact, including their conversation history. This is irreversible, and you will not be able to access this contact’s data or their conversations again. 

Anonymize contact – remove contact information without deleting their conversation history. The contact will be known only as “Paldesk Anonymous”, as seen here:

Anonymous contact in Paldesk

Image 5. An anonymized contact in Paldesk

Block – prevent someone from reaching out to you again. When you block a contact, they will not be able to message you again from the blocked email address. Read more about it in this article

For a recap of your contact administration options, take a look at this short video, where we covered all you need to know about contacts in Paldesk in around 5 minutes: 

Video 1. How contacts work in Paldesk

And that’s all you need to know about contacts in Paldesk! If you come across any questions or issues, please feel free to get in touch with us via chat (at paldesk.com) or send us an email to support@paldesk.com. We’ll be more than happy to help you set things up! 

Manage contacts was last modified: July 6th, 2020 by Marija Šakić
Share This