Enable private conversations

Related Articles

In case you need to restrict access to confidential information between your agents and customers, enable private conversations in your Paldesk administration panel. Private conversations are visible to the account owner, administrators, and the assigned agent. Other agents won’t be able to access them unless they’re made public again. Read more about how you can set up this useful feature below!

Where can I enable private conversations?

Follow these simple steps to set things up in a matter of seconds!

Step 1. Go to Administration – Company accounts – Accounts and then click on the Company profile tab.

Step 2. Click on the toggle switch to enable private conversations. If you’d like all new conversations to be private by default, select the “Make all newly opened conversations private” option. Save changes when you’re done.

Enable private conversations

Image 1. Enable private conversations in Paldesk

This will make all future incoming conversations sent to your team private by default. However, account owners and administrators can change a conversation’s privacy settings. Here’s what that looks like in the app:

Make private conversation public

Image 2. Make private conversations public (admins and owner)

Who can access these conversations in my Paldesk team?

Once you’ve enabled private conversations, visibility will vary depending on hierarchy. Namely, the account owner and administrators will still be able to see and access all conversations, while agents will only be able to see conversations assigned to them directly.

For instance, if Agents A, B and C are members of Group “Support”, when a new conversation arrives to their group, they will be able to see it and assign it to themselves or to each other. Of course, this also depends on their group’s routing type.

Finally, once the conversation is assigned to one of them, the other agents won’t be able to see it anymore.

Here’s an image to help explain the concept:

Private conversations visibility

Image 3. Visibility of private conversations 

Unlike agents, private conversations will still be visible to your administrators and the account owner. For example, here’s what a private conversation looks like from an administrator’s and an agent’s perspective, respectively.

First, here’s an account owner’s or administrator’s view:

Administrator's view

Image 4. Administrator’s view

Agents can see notifications of a new conversation in their team in the upper right corner or their Paldesk dashboard (the little bell icon next to their avatar). However, if private conversations are enabled, they will not be able to access a conversation assigned to another agent. 

Restricted access to conversation

Image 5. Restricted access (agent’s view)

And that’s how private conversations work in Paldesk! If you come across any issues, feel free to chat with us live on paldesk.com or send us an email to support@paldesk.com.  Our customer service team will be more than happy to help!

Enable private conversations was last modified: July 6th, 2020 by Marija Šakić
Share This