If a customer reaches out through chat, you can decide if they will have to share their contact information before they can leave a message.
This can be useful if you have to get back to them later or if you want to get a better overview of their previous interactions with your support team.
To access this feature, go to Administration> Website Widget> General and scroll down.
There are four authentication types:
- No data required – client will appear as “visitor”
- You provide information about client through code
- Client provides information through form
- Client can optionally provide information through form
You can read more about each type below:
No data required – client will appear as “visitor”
If you select this option, customers will not be required to share contact information in order to message you. They will appear in the chat simply as “visitors”.
While visitors can decide to share information with you through chat, they will not be able to automatically request a transcript of the conversation or rate the chat.
You provide information about client through code
If you have a webshop or a website where customers are required to create an account and log in, their account information will automatically be visible when they reach out via chat.
Client provides information through form
Before they can initiate a conversation, customers are asked to enter their name and email address into the login form. Their contact details will be visible in the chat and they will be saved as a contact in the app.
Client can optionally provide information through form
Customers can proceed as guests or share their contact information, depending on their preferences.